4 oils for beauty that AREN’T coconut oil

There’s a big band wagon and it’s name is COCONUT OIL.
I’ll be the first one to admit I love it and use coconut oil on a daily basis (I swear by it to remove my makeup every night, and even the occasional oil pulling) but I can’t help but voice my inner Gretchen Weiners – why should coconut oil get to stomp around like a giant while the rest of the oils try not to get smushed under his big feet? Other oils are just as good as coconut oil, people totally like other oils just as much as they like coconut oil!

So this blog post is going to be about all the other oils I use regularly and LOVE maybe even a little bit more than coconut oil, but that don’t get enough of the spot light. These oils, combined with a healthy diet, have helped me get the clearest skin I’ve had since I was a kid.

Disclaimer: I’m not an oil, skin or hair expert. I’m just sharing my experience after over 2 years of using these oils regularly. Every body is different and you might have a different experience using these products, but hopefully my experience helps you!

TMI Disclaimer: Like all other revolutionary ideas, the idea for this blog post came about in the shower, so I’m totally writing this blog post in towel.

oils.jpg

My top 4 oils for beauty:

Pure rosehip oil
I love this for clear skin! Rosehip oil contains natural Retinol Acid, which is vitamin A.  Vitamin A helps with skin cell regeneration, making it a good option if you’re looking for anti-ageing benefits. I originally bought this oil because I had an annoying dry patch on my cheek that wasn’t going away. I thought that the vitamin A content (which helps with more rapid renewal of skin tissue) would help. Sure enough, after a week or so of using rosehip oil my pesky dry patch vanished. HOORAY! Needless to say I’ve been using it ever since. If you want more info, you can read more about it here.

I use the Life-flo Pure Rosehip Seed Oil that I got from iHerb, which is awesome because it’s cold pressed and organic, making it rich and perfect for use on the skin. You can get some here (Use code JWV697 at checkout $5 off!)

 

Almond oil:
I love almond oil for hair AND skin. I literally use it on a daily basis. I like to use it in combination with rosehip oil as a moisturiser at night. It works great for me and I love this combo because it is chemical free, unlike a lot of conventional moisturisers. It also fights ageing, is packed with vitamins. You can also use this on your body. I think it’s commonly use to relieve nappy rash because it’s very soothing. So if you have a rash… Go for it!

AND OH MY GOODNESS does it make my hair feel SOOO good! I love drencNOW-07660-8hing my hair in almond oil at night as a hair treatment and letting it sit and absorb while I sleep. In the morning I wash it out and my hair feels so so nourished and soft! Hands down my favorite hair treatment. You can also add a drop or 2 to dry hair to smooth it.. but don’t add too much, it’s very rich.

Again, I get mine at iHerb and I buy the Now Solutions brand, which you can check out here using code JWV697 for $5 off.

 

Oregano oil:
I have a special place in my heart for oregano oil because it helped me get rid of my toenail infection. Yes, I’m about to talk toenail infections. I can do a whole post about how I got rid of it of anyone is interested (let me know). HOWEVER, it is rich in colour so it did stain my toenail yellow… but the infection was gone. Despite the colour, Oregano oil is amazing because it has antibacterial, antiviral, and antifungal properties, making it the perfect natural remedy for infections, just like my toenail infection. If you’re struggling with a toenail infection that won’t go away I would totally recommend this. You could dilute it in another type of oil (such as tea tree or olive oil) so that its colour isn’t as strong and doesn’t stain. I applied 3 drops daily for a few weeks until I noticed it was healing and then maintained for following months with tea tree oil (which doesn’t stain!)

For colds and flu: You can alsoLIF-78854-3 drink a few drops of this diluted in water and it’s apparently very good for colds and throat infections as it has strong antimicrobial properties to fight infections (I haven’t been sick in over 5 years so I don’t have personal experience with this but I’ve only heard good things).
You can read more in depth about it here

This is the one I use, which is paired with olive leaf for extra benefits. I got it here.

 

Tea tree oil:
This has SO many uses!CEN-22885-7
Tea tree oil has recognised antiseptic, anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, anti-inflammatory and anti-viral properties, making it ideal for keeping things CLEAN and healthy! I use it in the following ways:

  • In natural deodorant – I make my own deodorant (I can post about this if you’re interested. Let me know) and tea tree oil is great for keeping pits fresh and clean and free from bacteria.
  • As a pimple spot treatment – In my experience it’s good at drying pimples up when they’re in that sensitive, swollen, sore stage. Of course it’s anti inflammatory and anti bacterial properties are great for this. It is important to dilute it though, especially for sensitive skin. Combine it with another oil (coconut, almond etc.) for a more mild treatment.
  • Cleaning my phone – Phone screens are gross. I don’t even want to think about all the horrible, nasty germs on mine. I like to wipe mine over with a cotton pad with some tea tree oil to kill bacterial.  It’s great for any other type of cleaning and to add to home made household cleaners (:
  • Toe nail infection – When I had my toenail infection that I used oregano oil to clear, I switched to using tea tree oil after I noticed the oregano oil was staining it. The tea tree oil finished off the job and kept it free of infection.

I use this brand and i love it! Find it here, and again, you can use the code JWV697 at checkout for $5 off!

 

Leave a Reply

